Night Phlox

My foolish dreams

One of those moods…

leave a comment »

So this evening I turned my music up, shoved some headphones in and lastfm threw up some amazing songs. Loud, epic, angry music just makes me giddy. I’m typing this in one of those ecstatic moods. Here is a selection of songs that have got me here:

1. Broken Bells – Mongrel Heart

A nice, gentle, but beautiful start. I love almost every song I’ve heard by Broken Bells, but this is just something special. It fills me with a kind of simple joy.

2. The Joy Formidable – Popinjay

I love this band. They make a lot of noise. But it’s stunning, stunning noise.They’re not ashamed to pack a song with guitars from beginning to end.  This song is ever so slightly moody, almost dark in places. The chorus is sublime. If you like this, I would recommend a listen to Ostrich and Whirring by the same band.

3. The Killers – Shadowplay

Yes, I know it’s a cover of Joy Division. But I heard this version first, so it just feels right to me. The bass is perfect, the vocals understated but beautifully dark and nostalgic. 2.25 onwards is particularly brilliant.

4. 30 Seconds to Mars – The Kill

I’m not usually in to this kind of music, but when I’m already ‘in the zone’ and this blasts out loud, I love it. The choruses are wonderful; defiant, growling and very powerful.

5. Editors – Papillon

When Editors get it right, their songs are perfect. I’m a sucker for epic, sweeping guitars and strings, and the tinge of synths work really well here too. Also in the epic Editors song category is the Racing Rats. Both songs have great momentum, building up in intensity as they progress.

And what did I do while I was in this crazy-hyper mood? Write.

Written by Freya

Friday 13th May 2011 at 12:02 am

Posted in Music

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

